Annual General Meeting 2018

The 32nd AGM was hosted by the Archives and Library at the University of Southampton. Sadly our President, Nigel Atkinson, was unable to be with us for family reasons and I therefore took the chair.  
The minutes of the previous year were read and duly approved. I then presented my own report, which summarised the year for the Trust as being one of transition from being a largely passive organisation to one having a far more proactive role in support of the work of archivists throughout Hampshire. This was due in part to the constrained circumstances of the local authorities. The transition had necessitated changes to the composition of the Board and the establishment of a new constitution. I made a particular point of thanking Charlotte Bailey and Sue Woolgar for their exceedingly professional management of the process. The report was accepted by the members without dissent.  

The Treasurer, David Canniford, presented his report. In essence, the activity level had been low in the year due to the transitional process, but the Trust’s funds remained in a very healthy state. The members were happy to approve both the Independent Auditor’s report and the final accounts for submission to the Charity Commission.

Then followed the elections – Nigel Atkinson (President) and five Vice-Presidents had completed their term and agreed to serve for a further term of four years. As Caroline Edwards, the County Archivist, who had acted as the Trust’s Secretary, had stepped down at the May Board meeting, Sue Woolgar was elected as the new Secretary. The Chairman thanked Caroline for her immense dedication and support to the Trust. Two current Trustees, Michael Womersley and Michael Woodhall were re-elected and finally two new Trustees, Zoe Seenan and Dick Treglown were also approved.

Sue Woolgar then briefly reviewed the new Constitution which had been approved by the earlier SGM and asked the meeting to approve two further small amendments, which they duly did. The AGM concluded with two presentations: one by Cheryl Butler and David Spurling about the plans for the Trust’s new website, which will become a key part of the Trust’s marketing programme and will significantly increase our profile, and the second by Charlotte Bailey on the progress on improving communication with members using emails.  
The business meeting was followed by a talk and tour of an exhibition about the University’s role as a First World War hospital.

We are delighted that, since the AGM, Dr Barry Shurlock has agreed to be co-opted as a Trustee. We are sorry, however, that Sarah Speller has resigned because of pressure of other commitments; we thank her for everything she has done for the Trust.

David Livermore, Chairman